Suicide Hotline Volunteer Work: What I Learned

People have been asking me what I learned from volunteering at a suicide call center.

It gets tiring telling people to “hang in there” and that they have something to live for when you really know they don’t.

Which is why I am writing my new book (see below).

Give Up

I’d like to dedicate my book to the New Zealand Chess Team and the Polish Space Exploration Project.

5 Comments to “Suicide Hotline Volunteer Work: What I Learned”

  1. Suicide is the loss of hope. Loss of hope has nothing to do with what you or I think constitutes “something to live for.”

  2. How does anyone know what suicide is about?

    Do they do exit polls?

  3. Suicide is suffering. My point is that you should not presume to know whether a person’s life is worth living or not.

  4. I have always wanted to be a psychologist, or help in the suicide department. I think that it is so AWESOME that you tell these sought to be hopeless kids that it is alright, even when you know different. That to me shows b=very good judgment, shows that you care for someone other than your self. You do not want to approach the situation as a joke, or be blunt about it… be patient and let that person know that you are there for them, and that everything WILL be ALRIGHT.
    Although I am only the age of 15, I love helping people with their problems and no I do not see myself as Mr.”Psychologist,” I just want everyone to know that I am here for them!!!

  5. Update: I can respect suicide in some conditions. Not going to spell them out, but they exist.

Leave a Reply

