The “Me Vacation”

Every year, I like to take what I call a “me vacation”.

I started doing this 12 years ago.I like to go somewhere remote – the coast of Northern California and Oregon have been my favorite destinations.  I like to get a small, cozy place by the water.

Whereas typical vacations are usually about exploring your surroundings, I like the Me Vacation because I explore….well, me.   

I bring my laptop and my guitar.  I do a lot of yoga.  I bring books. I write.  I check-in with myself.This year I am finishing a work version of the Me Vacation.  People at work are referring to it as a “sabbatical.”  

I’ve been holed up for a week in my apartment designing the 2008 line of SEO products.There are some nice tricks to making a work week like this exciting (well, I love my work, so it would have been anyway).

I went to Trader Joe’s before the week started and spent $100 (which as you probably know, goes so far at that place) on tons of tasty, pre-prepared meals (well, I did cook once), and other treats.  They have a Cherry Vanilla “soy-cream” that is so amazing.And what made this week even more enjoyable was the rain.  

Having the heat cranked up, a hot pot of tea, and hearing the rain beat down on the roof as I designed exciting new products and listened to Groove Salad on beloved SOMAfm was my version of work heaven. 

On the topic of rain – I love the rainy season in San Francisco.  It reminds me of what a cozy city we have. 

Leave a Reply

